Gudday fellow travellers, let’s help each other out.

(Warning: First time blogger! Any feedback is welcomed)
Every time I travel somewhere, whether it be for vacation or if I’m moving there, I always think “What I need is Tenzing Norgay, a good sherpa guide to show me all the secrets the locals know but I don’t.” I just got back from the Florida Keys and before I went I checked out a bunch of travel sites to make my list of must see and must do things like Hemingway House, etc. And, although I got some great information about the local attractions, not one of them told me anything practical about the local customs e.g. when parking on or around Duval street (the main drag in Key West)  you have to park, then find a parking meter box to get the parking permit. to put in your car window, except on Sunday mornings when you can park for free until 10:00AM OR for free parking…see what I mean? All these things I found out from a local waitress who was serving me breakfast on the beach. Nobody knows a place like the locals. Nobody.
Now I’m not saying that you don’t also get some good advice from other travelers on the travel sites, I’m just saying that most travelers are ‘tourists’ and do ‘touristy’ things. The majority of us herd together with a crowd of other visitors and are led from attraction to attraction by a tour guide. Nothing wrong with that, in fact, the thrill of a new experience is often intensified when it is a shared experience. But that also means that all of their experiences and stories are similar, one sounding pretty much like the last one and the next one.When I travel I like to avoid the tourist buses and tours and instead take the local public transportation. It’s often a bumpy ride, crowded and sometimes dirty. But it’s the best way to meet the locals and meeting the locals does four things for you: you make new friends you wouldn’t have made any other way, you get the ‘inside scoop’ on things to do, places to go and things to avoid; you get better stories and have more unique experiences than the regular tourist experience provides; and you really get a taste of the local flavor.

So here’s what I want your help with. I want to create a travel site that is not only a mixture of travelers experiences but also is a place for the locals to brag about their home towns, offer local advice and welcome visitors. What do you think of this idea?

One Response

  1. Probably would be best to set it up as some sort of geographic based wiki.

    Have you looked at wikitravel.org yet? There may be some ideas there you’d want to poach.

Leave a Reply

TENTACLII :: H.P. Lovecraft blog

A blog on the famous author H.P. Lovecraft (1890–1937) and his works

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

AMERICAN MALE

Often described as a blog, an online magazine, a journal. When examined further the description changes and it becomes a project, an objective, a mission. American Male is one simple thing. It is a collection of different thoughts and experiences so come share yours and be part of the narrative.

mvillegas23957

A great WordPress.com site

WEB SPACE

Everything about the Online World

carpe diem

vie telle qu'elle est

johndownard555

john downard is a bamf

Fitness and Fat-loss Guide

Source for Fitness and Fat-loss Advice giving you the right information, motivation and solution.

d|gI+Al hEGeM0n ...d|g|Z|nE

Works of Thought... And Pictures of My Soul

fifa13newsreport

fifa 13 news report and game results

Whittington & Company

a personal touch...

dranthonysblog

A guy with a desk...

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

WISDOM PLUS

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The World and Thoughts of Alex Milledge

The Writing Blog of Alex Milledge

adventuress gals

Life is either a great adventure or it is nothing.

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

Digitally Conscious

Roll With The Punches, Go With The Flow

